The Energize Denver initiative began with the formation of the Energize Denver Task Force – a group of stakeholders from across the real estate industry.  The task force met eight times from January-July of 2016 to evaluate and recommend building efficiency programs and policies that will help Denver become a globally competitive leader in energy efficiency.

The task force was given the following goal: Reduce the energy consumption of commercial and multifamily buildings by 10% by the end of 2020 and double that in the following decade.  In addition, the task force set their own criteria for evaluating policy options.  Their criteria included how to lower energy bills for businesses and residents in Denver, as well as the economic opportunity for local building owners to realize lower operating expenses and increased building value.

The task force’s final consensus recommendation as well as documents that help explain their recommendation and their process are listed below. Based on the task force’s work and ongoing discussions with stakeholders the City will develop and implement new building efficiency programs and policies.

Energize Denver Task Force Members:  (Task Force Operating Protocol)

Adam Knoff, Unico Properties, 2030 District member
Bob Macauley, Xcel Energy
Christian Williss, Colorado Energy Office
Dawn Murray, KW Commercial Real Estate, DMCAR member, ICSC member
Elizabeth Babcock, Denver Department of Environmental Health
Elizabeth Caswell-Dyer, Sopra Communities, BOMA member, CAI member
J Drever, Mapleton Asset Management, NAIOP member
Jarrett Wendt, Panasonic
Jennifer Gremmert, Energy Outreach Colorado, Housing Colorado member
Jerry Glick, Columbia Group LLC, Former Chair of the Downtown Denver Partnership, and of Denver Civic Ventures
Jim Ptacek, NORESCO, ULI member
John Hersey, Enterprise Community Partners
Michael Totten
Mike Hicks, AIA member & ULI member
Mike Michna, Sage Hospitality
Patti Mason, USGBC Colorado
Phillip Saieg, McKinstry, BOMA member, USGBC member, advisor to NREL
Robin Kniech, City Council
Robert Martinez, Kaiser Permanente
Tony Massaro, Coalition for an Energy Efficient Denver